

Community Action Partnership Head Start/Early Head Start Policy Council **Special Meeting Minutes** July 17, 2024

A special Policy Council meeting was called by Jennifer Braun, HS/EHS Director, to discuss the approval of the following:

- 2024-2025 Head Start children at 101-130% Federal Poverty guidelines
- The Medically Underserved percentage for the 2024-2025 program year
- The FA2 Corrective Action Plan
- The Early Head Start Change in Scope grant
- The second reading approval of the Grievance Policy, and;
- The first reading approval of the following policies: Policy Council Chairperson, Policy Council Code of Conduct, Policy Council Elections, Policy Council Finance Committee, Policy Council Job Description, Policy Council North Dakota Head Start Association Representative, Policy Council Policies and Procedures, Policy Council Secretary, Policy Council Treasurer, and Shared Governance.

Jennifer explained the main reason for the special meeting was to approve these items, as the meeting they were to be approved at was cancelled on July 16, 2024, and the CAP Governing Board was going to discuss at their next meeting on July 23, 2024. Also, a majority of the approvals had due dates that occurred before the next Policy Council meeting date. The next Policy Council meeting is scheduled for August 13, 2024.

Jennifer shared the items that required Policy Council approval. She also explained that Policy Council will ratify the approvals at the August 13, 2024, meeting.

Second Reading Approval of the Grievance Policy: Jennifer shared there are no recommended or suggested changes.

Aye- Stacy Kilwein, Jamie Thomas, Carolyn Morowski, Andrea Huschka Naye-

Abstain-

Approval of 2024-2025 Head Start children in 101-130%: Jennifer shared there were six children on the waitlist who fall in the 101-130% of the federal poverty guidelines for Head Start for the Fall of 2024.

Aye- Stacy Kilwein, Jamie Thomas, Carolyn Morowski, Andrea Huschka Naye-

Abstain-

Approval of 2024-2025 Medically Underserved Percentage: Jennifer informed the members that Policy Council approves the percentage families can go up to as Medically Underserved (as well as follow the Medically Underserved criteria). She shared if the percentage went up to 350%, the program would be able to bring in 1 child. If the percentage went up to 375%, the program would be able to bring in 2 children, and if the percentage went up to 400%, the program would be able to bring in 3 children. The vote was approve the Medically Underserved percentage be set at 400% for the 2024-2025 program year.

Aye- Stacy Kilwein, Jamie Thomas, Carolyn Morowski, Andrea Huschka Naye-

Abstain-

Approval of FA2 Corrective Action Plan: Jennifer informed the members that following the Focus Area 2 (FA2) monitoring review that occurred in March, 2024, the program was informed that there were two areas of non-compliance. A Corrective Action Plan indicating how the program will improve on those two areas is due July 24, 2024, to the regional office.

Aye- Stacy Kilwein, Jamie Thomas, Carolyn Morowski, Andrea Huschka Naye-

Abstain-

Approval of Early Head Start Change in Scope Grant: Jennifer shared the discussion that has occurred since December, 2023, when the EHS program was placed on a Full Enrollment Initiative. The program's leadership team has met every six weeks since January, 2024, and due to the program being unable to hire two EHS Infant/Toddler Teachers, EHS will move forward with reducing enrollment. Jennifer shared the budget summary, as well as the enrollment breakdown. Aye- Stacy Kilwein, Jamie Thomas, Carolyn Morowski, Andrea Huschka Naye-Abstain-

First Reading Approval of Policy Council Chairperson, Policy Council Code of Conduct, Policy Council Elections, Policy Council Finance Committee, Policy Council Job Description, Policy Council North Dakota Head Start Association Representative, Policy Council Policies and Procedures, Policy Council Secretary, Policy Council Treasurer, and Shared Governance: Jennifer shared there were no recommended or suggested changes to any of these policies. Aye- Stacy Kilwein, Jamie Thomas, Carolyn Morowski, Andrea Huschka Naye-Abstain**Next meeting:** The next Policy Council meeting is scheduled for August 13, 2024 at 12:00pm via Zoom.

Submitted by:

Jamie Thomas, Secretary

Date